Exploring: Library Websites

LSB - Websites (1)Where have I been? Well, sometimes I take my little stacks of books with me to the beach. I had an amazing time, but I’m back and working on my next assignment: create (the beginnings of) a school library website.

I’ll be honest, I’m a little overwhelmed but I’m really enjoying the process. I made the decision to use Weebly because I’ve never used it before and it seems to be a really common resource in education. I can’t wait to show you the final product, but you’ll have to wait about a week.

Until then, allow me to introduce you to two very cool school library sites I found…

First up: Freeman High School Library. After clicking through a handful of links, I was excited to check out the Freeman website: they’re just down the road and I work in the same county.

Freeman Library SSI love the header and how beautifully they integrated the Henrico County Public School Library logo. I also like the placement of common links right at the top.

 

Pretty great, right? I also like the photo gallery that features a wide variety of learning activities in the library. Thumbs up.

Next: Chapel Hill High School. I was also drawn to explore this website due to the header. The library looks welcoming and energetic, it looks like a place I’d like to spend my time. The overall design is very clean and it’s incredibly easy to navigate. I’m intrigued by Symbaloo, how perfect to have resource links in a visual grid with student friendly app-like icons. I love it and I’m going to have to spend sometime with Symbaloo to see if it is a good fit for my classroom or even my website.

CHHSSymbaloo

Here is a link directly to the Symbaloo created for Chapel Hill High School Library.

I’d love to look at your library website – or one that you think is fantastic. If there is a website I can’t miss – let me know in the comments below!

Katie Signature

 

 

One Reply to “Exploring: Library Websites”

  1. Great post! You found two sites that are very different. There are elements of each cite that I would like to include in creating my actual website when the time comes. I also want to check out Symbaloo. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

